What are Chakras?

Chakra is a from the Hindu language, called Sanskrit, meaning “wheel” or “disk” which is derived from the root word “cakra”. Chakras are spinning wheels of light and energy. Chakras are responsible for taking in, fusing and giving off energy to keep us functioning at our best. Chakras are the energy centers of the body.

These spinning wheels of energy connect to large nerve centers in our bodies. Each of the seven main chakras hold bundles of nerves, major organs as well as our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being. Since everything is moving, it’s critical that our seven main chakras stay open, aligned, and flow with ease. When there is an energy blockage, energy cannot flow and the Chakra does not spin properly. Think of something as simple as your sink drain. If you allow too much hair to go into the drain, the sink will back up with water, stagnate and it will become a playground for bacteria and mold. This is also true with our bodies and the chakras.

Keeping a chakra open can be more of a challenge, but is much easier when we have awareness. Since body, mind and soul are tightly connected, awareness of an imbalance in one area will help bring the others back into balance as well. When our energy becomes blocked in our chakras it can frequently cause illnesses, so it’s imperative to comprehend what each chakra refers to and what we can do to keep this vitality streaming openly. Here’s a simple outline of the basics of each chakra:

1. Root Chakra – Represents our very foundation and being grounded.

Color: Red

Area: Bottom of spine in tail bone region.

Matters of emotions: Survival issues, for example, food, shelter, money.

2. Sacral Chakra – Our association and capacity to acknowledge others and new encounters.

Color: Orange

Area: Lower belly, around two inches beneath the navel.

Intense subject matters: Sense of wealth, prosperity, delight and sexuality.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Our capacity to be sure and in control of our lives.

Color: Yellow

Area: Upper midriff in the stomach region.

Intense subject matters: Self-worth, fearlessness and self-regard.

4. Heart Chakra – Our capacity to love.

Color: Green

Area: Chest center over the heart.

Intense subject matters: Inner peace, joy and love.

5. Throat Chakra – Our capacity to communicate.

Color: Blue

Area: Throat.

Intense subject matters: Communication, self-articulation of sentiments and reality.

6. Third Eye Chakra – Our capacity to concentrate on and see the comprehensive view.

Color: Indigo

Area: Forehead right between and slightly above the eyes (likewise called the Brow Chakra).

Intense subject matters: Intuition, creative ability, intelligence and the capacity to think and decide.

7. Crown Chakra – The most noteworthy chakra, the Crown Chakra serves to fully connect us spiritually.

Color: Violet

Area: The very top of the head.

Intense subject matters: Outer as well as inner beauty, the connection of euphoria and spirituality.